Connect with us


ICC scrapes the Rule which cost New Zeland a World Cup

Super Over New Rule from ICC, Rule change for most boundaries in Super Over, Will the world Cup result will change with new Rule? Jimmy Neesham has something to say about the new rule.


After an Epic World Cup final between the cricket teams of England and New Zealand, there was a lot of controversy about the super over and how it went. Some went on to say that the ICC rules are ridiculous and need to be changed. Well, the rant of the people has worked.

England vs New Zealand World Cup 2019 Final was decided on Super Over but wait! not just upon super over only, The super over was drawn, It was decided on the most number of boundaries hit and England had hit more boundaries so they won the Final. This rule had poor logic to it if any and was criticized by almost everyone, not from the English fans obviously. However, the rule was considered to be unjust for a team that has scored the same number of runs in same number of balls and yet end up on the losing side. This is now corrected by the ICC (International Cricket Council).


Previously the rule stated that if both the teams end up on a Tie in 50 overs then there will be a super over (A 6 ball decider over for each team to playout) whoever scores more runs in super over wins. However one may think what happens if the super over also ends up in a Tie? well apparently not much thought was put into it until it came into the matter in the biggest match of the game during the recent ICC World Cup event. It says that the team which scored the most number of boundaries during their 50 overs batting will win the game.

ICC has now changed it as ” SUPER OVER WILL CONTINUE UNTIL ONE TEAM SCORES MORE THAN THE OTHER” therefore now more worries about the boundary count.

New Zealand Player Jimmy Neesham expressed his opinion in a rather comic way twitting about it from his account.

Jimmy Neesham response to ICC on Rule Change

Useful Links:

Live Cricket Streaming of All Matches
Live Scores
Match Results
India Fixtures
Pakistan Fixtures
All Cricket Series and Fixtures
Australia Fixtures
England Fixtures
Top Cricket Stories
Latest Cricket News

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

ODI Match 21 08:00 AM 25 January 2020
JAP 6-31(10.3)
SL 0-0(0)

North West University Oval, Potchefstroom


ODI Match 23 08:00 AM 25 January 2020
UAE 3-100(20.0)
SA 8-299(50.0)

Mangaung Oval, Bloemfontein


ODI Match 22 08:00 AM 25 January 2020
SCO 140(37.2)
ZIM 1-120(14.2)

Witrand Oval, Potchefstroom


Test 4th Test 07:30 AM 24 January 2020
ENG 400(98.2)
SA 0-9(10.2)

New Wanderers Stadium, Johannesburg


T20 Match 54 03:45 AM 26 January 2020
SCO 0-0(0)
THU 0-0(0)

Sydney Showground Stadium, Sydney


T20 Intl 2nd T20I 06:50 AM 26 January 2020
IND 0-0(0)
NZ 0-0(0)

Eden Park, Auckland


T20 Match 55 08:10 AM 26 January 2020
HUR 0-0(0)
STR 0-0(0)

Adelaide Oval, Adelaide


T20 Match 56 03:45 AM 27 January 2020
HEA 0-0(0)
REN 0-0(0)

Marvel Stadium, Docklands


T20 T20 Match 07:40 AM 27 January 2020
CXI 0-0(0)
AUS 0-0(0)

Sydney Showground Stadium, Sydney


ODI Match 24 08:00 AM 25 January 2020
NGA 58(27.5)
ENG 2-64(11.0)

Diamond Oval, Kimberley

England Under 19s win by 8 wickets

T20 Intl 2nd T20I 09:00 AM 25 January 2020
BAN 6-136(20.0)
PAK 1-137(16.4)

Gaddafi Stadium, Lahore

Pakistan win by 9 wickets

T20 Match 53 08:10 AM 25 January 2020
HEA 5-186(20.0)
STA 115(17.4)

MCG, Melbourne

Brisbane Heat win by 71 runs

T20 Match 52 04:40 AM 25 January 2020
REN 5-175(20.0)
SIX 3-176(18.4)

SCG, Sydney

Sydney Sixers win by 7 wickets

ODI Match 18 08:00 AM 24 January 2020
BAN 9-106(25.0)
PAK 0-0(0)

JB Marks Oval, Potchefstroom

No Result

T20 Match 1 07:30 AM 11 December 2019
Chattogram Challengers 163/5 (19.0)
Sylhet Thunder 162/4 (20.0)

Match Ended

Chattogram Challengers beat Sylhet Thunder by 5 wickets

T20 Match 2 12:30 PM 11 December 2019
Cumilla Warriors 173/7 (20.0)
Rangpur Rangers 68 (14.0)

Match Ended

Cumilla Warriors beat Rangpur Rangers by 105 runs

T20 Match 3 07:30 AM 12 December 2019
Dhaka Platoon 134/9 (20.0)
Rajshahi Royals 136/1 (18.2)

Match Ended

Rajshahi Royals beat Dhaka Platoon by 9 wickets

T20 Match 4 12:30 PM 12 December 2019
Chattogram Challengers 144/6 (20.0)
Khulna Tigers 146/2 (13.5)

Match Ended

Khulna Tigers beat Chattogram Challengers by 8 wickets

Popular Cricket Tags

Cricket Buzz and News

More in Article